{"schemaVersion":"1.0","canonicalUrl":"https://virginiai.com/data-centers/aws-virginia-expansion","packetUrl":"https://virginiai.com/diligence/aws-virginia-expansion","reviewDate":"2026-10-30","project":{"jobs":"No campus-level job total verified","kind":"program","name":"AWS Virginia expansion program","slug":"aws-virginia-expansion","capex":"$35B planned through 2040","power":"Not disclosed for this program","region":"statewide","status":"Announced program","details":["The operator identifies an established presence in Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William counties.","Individual campus approvals, construction milestones, utility service, and commissioning require their own records. The program is excluded from campus capacity totals."],"summary":"AWS announced a planned $35 billion investment in additional Virginia data center campuses by 2040. This is a statewide program, not a single campus or completed spend.","locality":"Statewide","location":"Multiple Virginia localities","operator":"Amazon Web Services","sourceIds":["aws-virginia"],"confidence":"A","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},"sources":[{"id":"aws-virginia","url":"https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/aws/aws-commitment-to-virginia","title":"AWS’s long-term commitment to Virginia","publisher":"Amazon Web Services","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}],"qualifications":["This is a public research packet, not a legal, tax, engineering or investment opinion.","A source association is not proof of a final permit, utility commitment, incentive award or completed project.","Campus and multi-site program scopes are different. Do not sum overlapping program and campus investment or capacity figures.","Publication dates, desk review dates and project milestones have different meanings. An export is not a new source verification.","Unknown or undisclosed values remain unknown; locality markers are approximate and do not establish parcel jurisdiction."],"openQuestions":[{"topic":"Land use and jurisdiction","question":"Which parcel, legal jurisdiction and land-use approvals apply to AWS Virginia expansion program?","boundary":"The register describes a multi-site program; no single campus approval is implied. No locality-matched land-use reference is recorded in this packet; consult the actual governing jurisdiction.","references":[]},{"topic":"Electric service","question":"What site-specific utility service agreement, interconnection milestone and delivery date are documented?","boundary":"Reviewed disclosure: Not disclosed for this program. A campus specification is not an energized utility commitment. The general utility and SCC references do not identify the serving utility, governing rate or service agreement for this particular site.","references":[{"id":"dominion-requests","url":"https://www.dominionenergy.com/virginia/large-business-services/data-center-requests","title":"Data center requests and site-specific power planning","publisher":"Dominion Energy","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"scc-data-centers","url":"https://www.scc.virginia.gov/about-the-scc/scc-facts/","title":"SCC facts and data center initiatives","publisher":"Virginia State Corporation Commission","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}]},{"topic":"Environmental and water review","question":"Which air, water and cooling records apply to the actual site and phase?","boundary":"The register does not establish a project-specific water allocation or final environmental approval.","references":[{"id":"deq-air","url":"https://www.deq.virginia.gov/news-info/shortcuts/permits/air/issued-air-permits-for-data-centers","title":"Issued air permits for data centers","publisher":"Virginia Department of Environmental Quality","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"jlarc-data-centers","url":"https://jlarc.virginia.gov/landing-2024-data-centers-in-virginia.asp","title":"Data Centers in Virginia","publisher":"Virginia Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30","publishedAt":"2024-12-09"}]},{"topic":"Investment and incentives","question":"Which site-specific investment scope and written incentive or tax-qualification records are available?","boundary":"Reviewed investment disclosure: $35B planned through 2040. A program commitment is not a campus valuation.","references":[{"id":"vedp-incentives","url":"https://www.vedp.org/incentive/data-center-retail-sales-use-tax-exemption","title":"Data center retail sales and use tax exemption","publisher":"Virginia Economic Development Partnership","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}]},{"topic":"Employment and timing","question":"Which phase, hiring dates, job types and current employer postings are documented?","boundary":"Reviewed jobs disclosure: No campus-level job total verified. An announced target is not a live vacancy count. The workforce references are general training resources; they do not establish an employer affiliation, hiring commitment or project-specific training agreement.","references":[{"id":"nova-training","url":"https://www.nvcc.edu/academics/programs/data-center-operations.html","title":"Data Center Operations programs","publisher":"Northern Virginia Community College","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"microsoft-academy","url":"https://local.microsoft.com/blog/microsoft-datacenter-academy-virginia/","title":"Microsoft Datacenter Academy – Virginia","publisher":"Microsoft","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}]}]}