{"schemaVersion":"1.0","canonicalUrl":"https://virginiai.com/data-centers/google-virginia-investment","packetUrl":"https://virginiai.com/diligence/google-virginia-investment","reviewDate":"2026-10-30","project":{"jobs":"No project-specific total disclosed in cited announcement","kind":"program","name":"Google Virginia cloud and AI program","slug":"google-virginia-investment","capex":"$9B announced through 2026","power":"Not disclosed for this program","region":"statewide","status":"Announced investment program","details":["The announcement combines infrastructure and statewide educational initiatives. It does not assign the full investment to Chesterfield.","The stated investment is an announcement covering a period, not a verified amount spent or an operating capacity figure."],"summary":"Google’s August 2025 announcement committed an additional $9 billion to Virginia cloud and AI infrastructure through 2026, including a Chesterfield County data center.","locality":"Statewide","location":"Virginia, including Chesterfield County","operator":"Google","sourceIds":["google-investment"],"confidence":"A","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},"sources":[{"id":"google-investment","url":"https://blog.google/company-news/inside-google/company-announcements/google-american-innovation-virginia/","title":"Google’s Virginia cloud and AI infrastructure investment","publisher":"Google","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30","publishedAt":"2025-08-27"}],"qualifications":["This is a public research packet, not a legal, tax, engineering or investment opinion.","A source association is not proof of a final permit, utility commitment, incentive award or completed project.","Campus and multi-site program scopes are different. Do not sum overlapping program and campus investment or capacity figures.","Publication dates, desk review dates and project milestones have different meanings. An export is not a new source verification.","Unknown or undisclosed values remain unknown; locality markers are approximate and do not establish parcel jurisdiction."],"openQuestions":[{"topic":"Land use and jurisdiction","question":"Which parcel, legal jurisdiction and land-use approvals apply to Google Virginia cloud and AI program?","boundary":"The register describes a multi-site program; no single campus approval is implied. No locality-matched land-use reference is recorded in this packet; consult the actual governing jurisdiction.","references":[]},{"topic":"Electric service","question":"What site-specific utility service agreement, interconnection milestone and delivery date are documented?","boundary":"Reviewed disclosure: Not disclosed for this program. A campus specification is not an energized utility commitment. The general utility and SCC references do not identify the serving utility, governing rate or service agreement for this particular site.","references":[{"id":"dominion-requests","url":"https://www.dominionenergy.com/virginia/large-business-services/data-center-requests","title":"Data center requests and site-specific power planning","publisher":"Dominion Energy","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"scc-data-centers","url":"https://www.scc.virginia.gov/about-the-scc/scc-facts/","title":"SCC facts and data center initiatives","publisher":"Virginia State Corporation Commission","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}]},{"topic":"Environmental and water review","question":"Which air, water and cooling records apply to the actual site and phase?","boundary":"The register does not establish a project-specific water allocation or final environmental approval.","references":[{"id":"deq-air","url":"https://www.deq.virginia.gov/news-info/shortcuts/permits/air/issued-air-permits-for-data-centers","title":"Issued air permits for data centers","publisher":"Virginia Department of Environmental Quality","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"jlarc-data-centers","url":"https://jlarc.virginia.gov/landing-2024-data-centers-in-virginia.asp","title":"Data Centers in Virginia","publisher":"Virginia Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30","publishedAt":"2024-12-09"}]},{"topic":"Investment and incentives","question":"Which site-specific investment scope and written incentive or tax-qualification records are available?","boundary":"Reviewed investment disclosure: $9B announced through 2026. A program commitment is not a campus valuation.","references":[{"id":"vedp-incentives","url":"https://www.vedp.org/incentive/data-center-retail-sales-use-tax-exemption","title":"Data center retail sales and use tax exemption","publisher":"Virginia Economic Development Partnership","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}]},{"topic":"Employment and timing","question":"Which phase, hiring dates, job types and current employer postings are documented?","boundary":"Reviewed jobs disclosure: No project-specific total disclosed in cited announcement. An announced target is not a live vacancy count. The workforce references are general training resources; they do not establish an employer affiliation, hiring commitment or project-specific training agreement.","references":[{"id":"nova-training","url":"https://www.nvcc.edu/academics/programs/data-center-operations.html","title":"Data Center Operations programs","publisher":"Northern Virginia Community College","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"microsoft-academy","url":"https://local.microsoft.com/blog/microsoft-datacenter-academy-virginia/","title":"Microsoft Datacenter Academy – Virginia","publisher":"Microsoft","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}]}]}