{"schemaVersion":"1.0","canonicalUrl":"https://virginiai.com/data-centers/qts-richmond-1","packetUrl":"https://virginiai.com/diligence/qts-richmond-1","reviewDate":"2026-10-30","project":{"lat":37.513062,"lng":-77.313008,"jobs":"Not disclosed in cited source","kind":"campus","name":"QTS Richmond 1","slug":"qts-richmond-1","capex":"Not disclosed in cited source","power":"238 MW critical campus capacity — operator specification","region":"greater-richmond","status":"Marketed campus — phased delivery","details":["The operator describes six facilities in the master plan and 2.3 million square feet of current space.","Building-level completion and delivered utility capacity are not established by the marketing specification."],"summary":"QTS lists Richmond 1 as a 207-acre campus in Sandston with 238 MW of critical campus capacity. The specification is an operator campus figure, not a verified energized load.","locality":"Henrico County","location":"Sandston, Henrico County","operator":"QTS Data Centers","sourceIds":["census-places","qts-richmond"],"confidence":"A","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30","locationNote":"Approximate Sandston CDP locality marker from the Census Gazetteer internal point; not the campus location or parcel boundary.","approximateLocation":true},"sources":[{"id":"census-places","url":"https://www2.census.gov/geo/docs/maps-data/data/gazetteer/2025_Gazetteer/2025_Gaz_place_national.zip","title":"2025 Census Gazetteer place internal points","publisher":"U.S. Census Bureau","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"qts-richmond","url":"https://q.com/data-centers/richmond-1/","title":"Richmond 1 campus","publisher":"QTS Data Centers","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}],"qualifications":["This is a public research packet, not a legal, tax, engineering or investment opinion.","A source association is not proof of a final permit, utility commitment, incentive award or completed project.","Campus and multi-site program scopes are different. Do not sum overlapping program and campus investment or capacity figures.","Publication dates, desk review dates and project milestones have different meanings. An export is not a new source verification.","Unknown or undisclosed values remain unknown; locality markers are approximate and do not establish parcel jurisdiction."],"openQuestions":[{"topic":"Land use and jurisdiction","question":"Which parcel, legal jurisdiction and land-use approvals apply to QTS Richmond 1?","boundary":"The reviewed locality label is “Henrico County”. Confirm parcel jurisdiction independently. No locality-matched land-use reference is recorded in this packet; consult the actual governing jurisdiction.","references":[]},{"topic":"Electric service","question":"What site-specific utility service agreement, interconnection milestone and delivery date are documented?","boundary":"Reviewed disclosure: 238 MW critical campus capacity — operator specification. A campus specification is not an energized utility commitment. The general utility and SCC references do not identify the serving utility, governing rate or service agreement for this particular site.","references":[{"id":"dominion-requests","url":"https://www.dominionenergy.com/virginia/large-business-services/data-center-requests","title":"Data center requests and site-specific power planning","publisher":"Dominion Energy","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"scc-data-centers","url":"https://www.scc.virginia.gov/about-the-scc/scc-facts/","title":"SCC facts and data center initiatives","publisher":"Virginia State Corporation Commission","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}]},{"topic":"Environmental and water review","question":"Which air, water and cooling records apply to the actual site and phase?","boundary":"The register does not establish a project-specific water allocation or final environmental approval.","references":[{"id":"deq-air","url":"https://www.deq.virginia.gov/news-info/shortcuts/permits/air/issued-air-permits-for-data-centers","title":"Issued air permits for data centers","publisher":"Virginia Department of Environmental Quality","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"jlarc-data-centers","url":"https://jlarc.virginia.gov/landing-2024-data-centers-in-virginia.asp","title":"Data Centers in Virginia","publisher":"Virginia Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30","publishedAt":"2024-12-09"}]},{"topic":"Investment and incentives","question":"Which site-specific investment scope and written incentive or tax-qualification records are available?","boundary":"Reviewed investment disclosure: Not disclosed in cited source. A program commitment is not a campus valuation.","references":[{"id":"vedp-incentives","url":"https://www.vedp.org/incentive/data-center-retail-sales-use-tax-exemption","title":"Data center retail sales and use tax exemption","publisher":"Virginia Economic Development Partnership","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}]},{"topic":"Employment and timing","question":"Which phase, hiring dates, job types and current employer postings are documented?","boundary":"Reviewed jobs disclosure: Not disclosed in cited source. An announced target is not a live vacancy count. The workforce references are general training resources; they do not establish an employer affiliation, hiring commitment or project-specific training agreement.","references":[{"id":"nova-training","url":"https://www.nvcc.edu/academics/programs/data-center-operations.html","title":"Data Center Operations programs","publisher":"Northern Virginia Community College","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"},{"id":"microsoft-academy","url":"https://local.microsoft.com/blog/microsoft-datacenter-academy-virginia/","title":"Microsoft Datacenter Academy – Virginia","publisher":"Microsoft","accessedAt":"2026-10-30","verifiedAt":"2026-10-30"}]}]}