Virginia data centers: project tracker & map
Source-backed campus and multi-site program records. Follow announcements, locations, investment disclosures and the conditions behind each development.
Showing 11 of 11 Virginia records. The table and map use the same filters.
| Project / program | Operator | Locality | Investment | Power | Conf. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Virginia expansion program Announced program · program | Amazon Web Services | Statewide | $35B planned through 2040 | Not disclosed for this program | A |
| Google Virginia cloud and AI program Announced investment program · program | Statewide | $9B announced through 2026 | Not disclosed for this program | A | |
| Microsoft Boydton data center Operating — operator confirmed · campus | Microsoft | Mecklenburg County | Not verified at campus level | Not disclosed in cited source | A |
| Google Loudoun County data center Operating — operator confirmed · campus | Loudoun County | Not separately disclosed | Not disclosed in cited source | A | |
| Google Prince William County data center Operating — operator confirmed · campus | Prince William County | Not separately disclosed | Not disclosed in cited source | A | |
| Google Chesterfield County data center Announced — current construction stage unverified · campus | Chesterfield County | Part of broader Virginia program; campus amount not disclosed | Not disclosed in cited source | B | |
| QTS Richmond 1 Marketed campus — phased delivery · campus | QTS Data Centers | Henrico County | Not disclosed in cited source | 238 MW critical campus capacity — operator specification | A |
| QTS Ashburn 1 Marketed campus — expansion stage needs confirmation · campus | QTS Data Centers | Loudoun County | Not disclosed in cited source | 55 MW+ DC1 specification; DC2 delivery not verified | B |
| QTS Manassas 1 Marketed campus — master plan · campus | QTS Data Centers | Manassas area — parcel jurisdictions require verification | Not disclosed in cited source | 190 MW+ critical campus specification — planned buildout | B |
| Vantage Ashburn III / VA3 Marketed campus — full buildout not verified · campus | Vantage Data Centers | Loudoun County | Not disclosed in cited source | 288 MW critical IT load — campus specification | B |
| Vantage Fredericksburg / VA4 Planned campus — operator targets first building in late 2027 · campus | Vantage Data Centers | Fredericksburg area — parcel jurisdiction not verified | Not disclosed in cited source | 192 MW critical IT load — planned campus specification | B |
Campus and multi-site program records remain separate. Investment and power disclosures are not combined across overlapping scopes.
Virginia overview. Markers, where available, indicate approximate locality positions rather than surveyed site boundaries.
Multi-site programs have no campus marker. Mapped records use approximate locality reference points, not surveyed campus boundaries.
Read the conditions behind the campuses.
Power & grid
Utility service, large-load rates, and the difference between a request and delivered power.
Open channel →Water & coolingWater & cooling
Keep facility cooling demand, utility supply, and withdrawal permissions separate.
Open channel →Permitting & land usePermitting & land use
Local land use approvals and DEQ air permits answer different questions.
Open channel →Incentives & taxesIncentives & taxes
Virginia’s equipment exemption has qualification, agreement, and reporting requirements.
Open channel →Jobs & workforceJobs & workforce
Documented training pathways and employer sources, with no invented vacancy counts.
Open channel →AI policy & governanceAI policy & governance
State agency AI standards, oversight, and the source trail behind policy changes.
Open channel →