Skip to content
  • VIRGINIA AI, infrastructure & the local economy SOURCE-LINKED
  • TRACKER 11 source-backed records EVIDENCE FIRST
  • THE DESK Power · water · permits · workforce
VirginiAIResearch Desk

Diligence that carries its source trail.

Each Virginia packet keeps the reviewed record, its disclosure scope and its sources together. Unanswered controls stay questions, not approvals inferred from an announcement.

programConfidence A

AWS Virginia expansion program

AWS announced a planned $35 billion investment in additional Virginia data center campuses by 2040. This is a statewide program, not a single campus or completed spend.

Investment disclosure
$35B planned through 2040
Power disclosure
Not disclosed for this program
Open research packet →
programConfidence A

Google Virginia cloud and AI program

Google’s August 2025 announcement committed an additional $9 billion to Virginia cloud and AI infrastructure through 2026, including a Chesterfield County data center.

Investment disclosure
$9B announced through 2026
Power disclosure
Not disclosed for this program
Open research packet →
campusConfidence A

Microsoft Boydton data center

Microsoft confirms that it operates a data center in Boydton. Southern Virginia also hosts Microsoft’s TechSpark community and skills work.

Investment disclosure
Not verified at campus level
Power disclosure
Not disclosed in cited source
Open research packet →
campusConfidence A

Google Prince William County data center

Google reports that construction of its Prince William County data center was completed in 2023 and describes the Northern Virginia facilities as operating.

Investment disclosure
Not separately disclosed
Power disclosure
Not disclosed in cited source
Open research packet →
campusConfidence B

Google Chesterfield County data center

Google’s 2025 Virginia investment announcement includes a new Chesterfield County data center. The cited announcement does not establish its current construction or operating stage.

Investment disclosure
Part of broader Virginia program; campus amount not disclosed
Power disclosure
Not disclosed in cited source
Open research packet →
campusConfidence A

QTS Richmond 1

QTS lists Richmond 1 as a 207-acre campus in Sandston with 238 MW of critical campus capacity. The specification is an operator campus figure, not a verified energized load.

Investment disclosure
Not disclosed in cited source
Power disclosure
238 MW critical campus capacity — operator specification
Open research packet →
campusConfidence B

QTS Ashburn 1

QTS markets a two-building, 28-acre Ashburn campus. Its page lists 55 MW-plus for DC1 and a separately described DC2 expansion.

Investment disclosure
Not disclosed in cited source
Power disclosure
55 MW+ DC1 specification; DC2 delivery not verified
Open research packet →
campusConfidence B

QTS Manassas 1

QTS describes a 105-acre, planned six-building campus with 190 MW-plus of critical campus capacity in the Manassas area.

Investment disclosure
Not disclosed in cited source
Power disclosure
190 MW+ critical campus specification — planned buildout
Open research packet →
campusConfidence B

Vantage Ashburn III / VA3

Vantage’s VA3 specification describes a 134-acre campus planned for seven data centers and 288 MW of critical IT load.

Investment disclosure
Not disclosed in cited source
Power disclosure
288 MW critical IT load — campus specification
Open research packet →
campusConfidence B

Vantage Fredericksburg / VA4

Vantage describes its planned Fredericksburg VA4 campus at 225 Centreport Parkway as three facilities with 192 MW of critical IT load. This is a planned campus specification, not verified delivered utility capacity.

Investment disclosure
Not disclosed in cited source
Power disclosure
192 MW critical IT load — planned campus specification
Open research packet →